Early Care and Education Photo

PSO donates over 100 books to Caddo Kiowa Tech’s Early Care center

This week Public Service Company of Oklahoma, an operating unit of American Electric Power, donated books to the Early Care and Education Program at CKTC. The contribution is made to honor Week of the Young Child. WOYC is an annual celebration for the Early Care center that is hosted by the National Association for the Education of Young Children.

NAEYC is a professional membership organization that promotes high-quality early learning for all young children. Both NAEYC and the Early Care program at CKTC work to achieve a collective vision: That all young children thrive and learn in a society dedicated to ensuring they reach their full potential.

“Reading is an integral part of the day-to-day activities at the center,” said Director Amy Cowan. “This donation is greatly appreciated and such a highlight for the children.”

Not only is the center a 3-star child care facility, but it’s also a training program for students. Those enrolled in the program learn how to become licensed teachers in early care facilities.

For over half a century, CKTC has provided career training, business and industry services and leadership programs to a rural district in southwest Oklahoma. Opportunities at CKTC range from business and health to science and transportation trades. Additionally, CKTC offers customized workplace training and short-term training. More information about CKTC is available online at www.mycktc.com or by calling 405.643.5511. CKTC is a proud member of the Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education, which provides leadership and resources and assures standards of excellence for a comprehensive statewide system of career and technology education. The system offers programs and services in 29 technology center districts.

This institution is an equal opportunity provider and employer.

Early Care and Education Photo
Children in the Turtles classroom at CKTC are excited to receive books from PSO/AEP Representative Michael Hixson. Sitting Crew Biddy, Fort Cobb; Barrett McGlothlin, Anadarko; Brock Frank, Binger; Brayden Cottier, Apache; Serenity Phelps Rexroat, Fort Cobb; Everleigh Marrow, Fort Cobb; and Kimber Berndsen, Fort Cobb. Standing are Jentri Rhoades, Fort Cobb; and Caledon Weaver, Fort Cobb.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19 − nine =